Archive for November 16th, 2007

16
Nov
07

Gilbert’s Blog

arenas-large.jpg

 I have become a fan of Gilbert Arenas this year, since I started reading his blog.  I have always found him unique and somewhat interesting, but I honestly didn’t know much about him, so I just didn’t seem to care too much either way. 

A friend of mine, Dobie, has been the biggest fan I know.  In 2002 we were having our fantasy draft and Dobie took a player by the name of Gilbert Arenas with his last pick in the draft.  We all looked at him and said, “Who the hell is that?  That kid from Arizona?”  We thought nothing of it, until Gilbert blew up that year and averaged 18.3 points, 6.3 assists, 4.7 boards, and 1.5 steals!  Needless to say, Dobie won that year (obviously it wasn’t just because of Gilbert, but he helped a lot).  Dobie couldn’t stop talking about Arenas from then on, and still can’t to some degree.  I, on the other hand, thought he was somewhat overrated and kind of a showboat…. until this off-season. 

As mentioned above, I have been reading his blog and have simply loved it!  He is unlike most famous athletes and people in general in that he embraces his quirkiness.  He doesn’t seem to care too much about what other people think of him (on and off the court).  He is who he is and that’s it.  I respect that. 

I’m sure most of you have read his blog (if your reading mine, you DEFINITELY have read his), but I want to link his latest entry because it shows his personality (he has given himself a new nickname) and he discusses his knee, which is an ongoing topic on Just Give Me The Stats!! since I have him on one of my teams!  It’s my blog, so I discuss the players that are most important to me.  Get used to it. 

 Here’s the link.  Enjoy:

http://my.nba.com/forum.jspa?forumID=400032200