26
Oct
07

Detroit Pistons Preview

I have way behind my preseason previews due to my daughter’s birth, so I’ll have to shorten this up. I’ll just pick and choose which teams I get detailed on. The Pistons will be on of these quick reviews, because although I really like their young guys, Jason Maxiell, Amir Johnson and Rodney Stuckey, they won’t be effective until they get minutes and as long as the starting five are healthy, they won’t get many. Actually, Maxiell should get decent minutes because he’s backing up McDyess, who is better served off the bench, so we’ll see how that develops. So here is the starting five:

Projected starting lineup with last year’s stats:
Stats follow this format – Points, Rebounds, Assists, Steals, Blocks, FG percentage & Minutes

PG – Chauncey Billups
17 – 3.4 – 7.2 – 1.2 – 0.24 – 43% & 36 min

SG – Richard Hamilton
19.8 – 3.8 – 3.8 – 0.79 – 0.2 – 47% & 37 min

SF – Tayshaun Prince
14.3 – 5.2 – 2.8 – 0.62 – 0.67 – 46% & 37 min

PF – Rasheed Wallace
12.3 – 7.2 – 1.7 – 1 – 1.57 – 42% & 32 min

C – Antonio McDyess
8.1 – 6 – 0.9 – 0.74 – 0.79 – 53% & 21 min

They have 4 guys who average 32 minutes or more, that’s why you wont see anything from the young guys, but Maxiell. I actually really like Amir and I hope he gets a chance, because he could help this team out a ton. Back to the starters. I expect the same numbers from the 4 main guys again this year. Nothing has changed with any of them. People are taking a flyer on McDyess, and I like him a lot, but he’s not worth the risk. Maxiell is a better player at this stage, so he should slowly get the minutes and I hope he takes over the starting role sometime this year.

0 Responses to “Detroit Pistons Preview”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

